2am

by remembertoexhale

I thought that I missed you
but then I looked at the clock
and its just 1:59

2am
Someone should give that emotion a name
I almost wished that I was you
but I realised tomorrow I will wake up

and I might be happy to be alive
these scars are only superficial
and when the orange light
seeps through the curtains
and I stumble to the bathroom

I’ll forget what should have been
what could have been
and there’ll be coffee in chipped cups
bananas chopped yellow suns in yogurt

2am
Someone should give that emotion a name
I almost wished that I was you
I thought that I missed you
but then I looked at the clock
and it was just 1:59

black painted nail polish
undried and imprinted
denim jackets and cuffed sleeves
The mornings bring release
the afternoons purpose
the nights distraction
until

2am
Someone should give that emotion a name
I almost wished that I was you
I thought that I missed you
but then I looked at the clock
and it was just 1:59

2am- Someone should give that emotion a name

 

 

