When the Doctor has to Lift

by remembertoexhale

When the doctor has to lift
my heart out of my chest one day
he will probably need two hands.
From this angle
all I can see of you are
your lips and chin caught in between
that awkward space of her nose and fringe
while you are talking about something irrelevant
I consider moving so that I can see your whole face
but then I do,
and I decide that I rather like looking
at the way your lips and chin move
because it is a lot more interesting than the current topic of conversation
and I can see slight stubble on your chin
I am careful not to look like I am admiring it
because really I am not
I have exhausted the love everyone’s ever had for me
one hug too little
one text too many
never a single phone call
take what you can get
finders keepers
losers weepers
and I rather like looking
at the way that your lips and chin move
and the slight stubble on your chin.
I have exhausted the love everyone’s ever had for me
when the doctor has to lift
my heart out of my chest one day
he will probably need two hands.

