bus stop blues

by remembertoexhale

I had just made a pointless dash to the bus stop. My throat parched and my tongue refusing to moisten my lips as I carefully slide on the sooty coloured marble-like bench- fearing a burn on the back of my thighs. None comes and I am grateful as I shift my heavy bag beside me. The music in my ears switches to the solid steady drums of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, I can’t immediately remember the name of the song but it instantly brings memories of younger days, carefree days. This is ironic since the lyrics of the song are rather morbid, just disguised by funky bass and trademark guitar riffs. Still, I let the song take me back trying to remember who I was then. A huge gust of hot lazy wind surprises me and sends my hair flying in all directions, perfectly timed to the climax of the chorus “California rest in peace…” I nearly choke up, but the bus arrives and I am instantly up, ready to board and I don’t look back.

